Our board

Photo of chairperson

Patrick Lunn | Chairperson

On 6 November 2014, Patrick was first appointed Chairperson of the Legal Aid Commission for a term of three years. The Minister for Justice re-appointed Patrick for a further three year term commencing on 6 November 2017.

Patrick graduated from the University of Tasmania with the combined degrees of Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws in 1995.
Patrick has practiced in commercial litigation since 1995 where his practice has included debt recovery, estate disputes, partnership, bankruptcy and insolvency litigation, professional negligence claims and residential and commercial tenancy disputes.

Patrick became a member of the board of management of Plane Tree Studio Inc. in 1997 and has been a Chair of its Board of Management since 1998.

photo of director

Vincenzo Caltabiano | Director

On 13 May 2019, Vincenzo commenced as Director of the Legal Aid Commission of Tasmania for a term of five years.

He was admitted to practise law in 1992 after graduating with a Bachelor of Economics and Bachelor of Laws from Monash University.

Vincenzo spent 17 years in private practice, including seven years in his own firm, focusing on family law and criminal law.

Vincenzo joined Legal Aid Tasmania after almost 11 years at Victoria Legal Aid (VLA) where he undertook a range of roles including seven years in the criminal law program, as a duty lawyer, Manager of the Advocacy Team and as the inaugural Summary Crime Program Manager. Vincenzo has experience in conducting complex indictable and summary crime matters and Detention and Supervision Order cases.

In more recent years Vincenzo conducted the Review of Legal Aid Child Protection Legal Services at VLA and was then appointed Associate Director, Child Protection Transformation at VLA.
He holds a Masters of Public Policy and Management (2017 University of Melbourne), served on the Board of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Psychiatry, Psychology and Law from 2011 to 2019 including three years as President.

Photo of board member

Matthew Verney

Matthew Verney was appointed as a Commissioner for a term of three years on 17 November 2020.

Matthew graduated from the University of Tasmania with a combined degree of Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws in 1993.

Matthew has practiced the law since 1994 when he served a 12-month apprenticeship and was admitted to practice in 1995. He has been the Principal of his own firm since 2003 practicing predominantly in family law, child safety, and commercial law. He is heavily committed to service to the profession, the Rule of Law, and access to justice. He served 10 years as a member of the Council of the Law Society of Tasmania including two years as the President of the Society. He served two years as a Director of the Law Council of Australia.

Matthew was a member of the Steering Committee which undertook an Evaluation of the Legal Assistance sector and serves as a member of the Disciplinary Tribunal, Mental Health Tribunal, and is Deputy President of the Guardianship and Administration Board.

Photo of board member

Naomi Walsh

On 27 July 2017, the Minister for Justice appointed Naomi Walsh to the Board for a term of three years.

Naomi has a Bachelor of Business and a Masters of Business from the University of Tasmania. Naomi is currently the Executive Manager of Virieux Group and Rosevears Developments and brings business, managements, risk management, corporate governance and financial expertise to the Board.

Naomi has been an Executive Manager of a hospitality group and also a finance manager for a road construction company. She is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Photo of board member

Gavin Wailes

On 15 January 2018, the Minister for Justice appointed Gavin Wailes to the Board.

Gavin graduated from the University of Tasmania with a Bachelor of Commerce in 2001, has a Graduate Certificate in Public Sector Management and is a member of CPA Australia.

Gavin is currently the Acting Director of Finance with the Department of Justice and has previously worked for the Departments of Treasury and Finance, Police, Fire and Emergency Management and for the Tasmania Prison Service in a variety of accounting and management roles.

Last updated: 24/03/2022